The Paperbacks: Perpetual Autumn

Hey music junkie! First time here? Click over to and get all of our content (tons of music) delivered for free. Enjoy your time here, and keep it loud!

Formed in 2001, The Paperbacks have operated consistently and quietly from their home base in Winnipeg, Canada, gathering a dedicated following and building up an impressive catalogue of songs and accomplishments.

Singer/guitarist Doug McLean, whose previous groups (beloved pop-punkers The Bonaduces and the more politically-oriented Painted Thin) had dissolved almost simultaneously in 2000, founded The Paperbacks with members of both those projects: bassist Jaret McNabb, drummer Jack Jonasson and guitarist Mike McKenzie. It was a step into slightly unknown territory; though the signature lyrical style of McLean remained, the harder, sloppier edges of both the previous bands had been shed to create a more delicate sound, putting greater emphasis on harmonies and layered arrangements.

Their latest lineup solidified in early 2008 with new guitarist Kevin Andrechuck and keyboardist Kevin McLean joining permanently. With the new personnel in place, the group tackled their latest recording project, which became the monster 32-song, double CD set “Lit From Within.” Produced once again by McNabb in his home studio, the album took a year to complete and was released in January of 2010. [killbeat]

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Download | Subscribe | Subscribe in iTunes | Subscribe to All