A.C. Newman: There Are Maybe Ten or Twelve

Hey music junkie! First time here? Click over to http://insomniaradio.net/subscribe/ and get all of our content (tons of music) delivered for free. Enjoy your time here, and keep it loud!

A.C. NewmanA.C. Newman is best known as the lead for The New Pornographers, but got his start in Canadian indie bands Superconductor and Zumpano.   Four years into TNP, A.C. branched off with his solo offshoot in 2004, and released his debut, “The Slow Wonder”.   Five years later, he has finished his sophomore solo effort titled “Get Guilty” – released on January 20, 2009 via Matador Records.

Players on Get Guilty include drummers Jon Wurster (Superchunk, Mountain Goats) and Charles Burst, an array of strings, horns, and woodwinds, and vocalists Nicole Atkins and Mates Of State. It sounds familiarly lush but not overworked, and even intimate. Dramatic themes recur – change, water, self-doubt, gods and prophets – yet an optimistic beauty prevails. The stately opening track gives way to the orchestral, romantic road trip of “The Heartbreak Rides,” and the album closes with one of his most direct songs ever, “All of My Days and All Of My Days Off,” a love letter to his wife about their wedding day.

Newman will be touring North America from February 2009 through the summer, and his cover of Aha’s “Take On Me” will be featured on a Starbucks Valentine’s Day compilation.  Check out some of the magic below:

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Download | Subscribe | Subscribe in iTunes | Subscribe to All