New God: Firework

New GodIn the spring of 2013, Baltimore-based art-pop band New God, lead by brothers Kenny and Curt Tompkins, began crafting songs for their sophomore LP, Firework.

Sessions continued in Baltimore throughout the summer of 2013, and by early fall they had completed a large collection of songs that would eventually be boiled down to the lean eight tracks found on Firework. The album is a slight departure from the sugar-rush fuzz-pop of their debut, 2012’s polished lo-fi Motorcar, but maintains the stylized production values, thick harmony vocals and sun-soaked melodies that originally won them so many Beach Boys comparisons.

New God is currently planning a tour in support of Firework, which will be released digitally and on vinyl and CD by Yellow K Records on July 29, 2014.

[via Team Clermont]


[audio:] Download New God

Free Music, Every Day. Subscribe to the Daily Dose.