Brookhaven: Out on the Floor

From their new album ‘When the Chorus Walks’, which is the follow-up to 2005’s ‘Transitive Verses’

BROOKHAVEN began in 2000 as the home recording project of Sonny James, a certain hybrid of minimal electro and drone-rock composed by way of electric guitars, warbling synths, live drumming and various types of programming. 2001 saw the release of the first proper Brookhaven record, entitled ‘Everything That Rises Must Rise’.

These days the band consists of Michael Jacobs- drum kit, Sonny James- electric guitar, bret winans- Rhodes and synth, and Trevor Rogers- bass and electric guitar. In 2005 the group released its first LP entitled ‘Transitive Verses’, a remarkable collection of mid-fi sound collages and full-band compositions that drift seamlessly between reflective shoegazing melodies, dreamy electronic pop and cavernous drone passage. The new record is an ensemble affair, offering a far more experimental approach to arrangement while retaining the stark tone of previous outings. [IODA]


Download | Subscribe | Subscribe in iTunes | Subscribe to All


IODA Links