brakesbrakesbrakes: Don’t Take Me To Space (Man)

Hey music junkie! First time here? Click over to and get all of our content (tons of music) delivered for free. Enjoy your time here, and keep it loud!

The third album [Touchdown] by Brighton UK’s brakesbrakesbrakes finds the group, which features former and current members of British Sea Power, Electric Soft Parade, and The Tenderfoot, polishing up their sound a bit – without sacrificing any of the immediacy or jangle that makes their slightly-countrified powerpop so appealing.

Birthed fittingly on a boozy evening in a dank Brighton nightclub, brakesbrakesbrakes (or simply Brakes as they are known back home) came together when Electric Soft Parade members and brothers Tom and Alex White accosted former British Sea Power keyboardist Eamon Hamilton following a solo gig. The immortal words “let’s form a band” were uttered and the rest, as they say, is history. The trio added bassist Marc Beatty of The Tenderfoot to fully transform Hamilton’s songs.

Touchdown is by far the band’s best work. Across 12 tracks, the blokes polish up their rough edges a bit without sacrificing any of the raucous punchiness, vitriol, or wit that makes them one of the most vital rock acts to grace either side of the Atlantic.

Now with the album complete and the band well rested, the road is beckoning once again. A full brakesbrakesbrakes tour of the U.S. is planned for May while the newly transplanted Hamilton will unveil the new songs at select solo gigs around the album’s release. [IODA]

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Download | Subscribe | Subscribe in iTunes | Subscribe to All


IODA Links

 “Don’t Take Me To Space (Man)” (mp3) 
from “Touchdown” 
(Fat Cat Records)